My Financial Personality

The ever-cool financial guru, J$ over at Budgets are Sexy posted a Financial Personality Quiz last week and I just got around to taking it. There weren’t as many questions as I expected there to be (aren’t I an incredibly complex and unique human being?) but I think they got it right!

Screen Shot 2015-06-12 at 11.39.30 AM

The first thing on the list – avoids impulsive spending – is absolutely true. I hate spending money when I have to, let alone randomly buying a new item, which in general helps us to stay on track. Unfortunately I also tend to avoid high risks, which means that I take my sweet time learning about investments and would rather put our money in mutual funds than in stocks, even though I know that as 30-somethings we should start investing in riskier assets to grow our money over the long term.

I’m also the type of person that finds it fun to go over all of our transactions in mint, look up how our stocks are doing throughout the day, and continually monitor our credit card and savings. Ever since I was a wee one I enjoyed counting out my piggy bank and dreaming of how much I could save (my ultimate goal at the age of 15 was a volkswagen bug; luckily I never accrued enough to make that mistake), and always sought out money making schemes with my younger siblings.

The husband is also going to take the quiz, and it will be interesting to see how similar or different we are in terms of our money personalities!

Have you taken the financial personality quiz? What personality are you?

Leave a Reply

