Recently

What’s up friends! I kind of dropped off the face of the blog world there, partly due to a busy work schedule and the conscious choice to limit my social media, and partly because I haven’t felt super motivated to blog. I’ve still been following along with everyone else’s blogs though, and I’m ready to start writing again.

A few weekends ago we went on our first backpacking trip near Mount Rainier, and while it rained the ENTIRE time, we still had a fantastic time with the friends we went with and have caught the backpacking bug. Originally this trip was supposed to be a snowshoe adventure, but we’ve had an incredibly mild winter and saw not an inch of snow on our trek. The hike was somewhat challenging, but our reward was a clean, warm yurt in the middle of the woods.

(Our yurt looked like this without the snow)

Once we got to the yurt we brought out the bags of wine, fireball, and whiskey, changed out of our wet clothes, and began playing games. It was so nice to be out of the city, with no television or computers or phones, away from our work worries, and enjoying the company of new and old friends.

Yurting was relatively inexpensive as well; for the entire weekend we paid $80 for the two of us, which included the snow pass we needed, the yurt fees, and the dinner we made for the six of us. We love camping and exploring the outdoors, and one of the main benefits is that we can spend a weekend away for a lot less than we would if we went to a hotel or resort.

As you can imagine, I was incredibly sore after hiking 12 miles with a 30 pound pack on my back after the weekend was over, and it made me realize that the sedentary lifestyle I’ve led for the majority of the winter has really taken a toll on my fitness. This happens every summer; I’m all gung-ho about outdoor adventures and dream of climbing mountains, kayaking in the sea, and running 5k’s every weekend. The reality is that my fitness dwindles in the winter and I need to take the time to build my base back up because of it. So because of that I’ve been focusing on finding new workouts and trying new classes to get this booty in shape. Enter: Barre works. I’m sure many of you have heard of Barre, but for those of you who don’t have a clue what the newest fitness craze is, google “Barre fitness” and you’ll get thousands of hits on this crazy exercise.

Screen Shot 2015-03-28 at 8.40.27 AM

The class at the gym I belong is called Barre Works and is described as “This class will increase your core strength and flexibility integrating the fat burning format of interval training, the muscle shaping technique of isometrics, the elongating principles of dance conditioning, and the science of physical therapy to create a revolutionary new workout that quickly and safely reshapes your entire body”

I’ve never been a coordinated person, and therefore haven’t taken a formal dance class in over 20 years, but I liked that it incorporates some ballet moves and is helpful for balance and good posture. My muscles were definitely screaming throughout the class, and I couldn’t wait for the tiny movements to be over. The instructor was very fun, but I found the class to be repetitive and a bit boring. I’m going to try it again with a different instructor to see if they are all likes this, but I personally wouldn’t pay the $20 per class that some of the Barre studios in my area charge. If your gym doesn’t provide a Barre-like class, and you don’t want to pay the high fees to try out a studio near you, there is also online Barre3 classes that you can purchase for $15 per month. Barre3 online provides unlimited 10, 30, 40, and 60 minute workouts, you can try a few online for free, and they require little equipment, making them perfect to do a at home.

Our finances have finally fallen into place, and I promise to do an end of the month update soon, along with a few ideas we have for streamlining our savings and debt repayment!

Have you tried Barre classes? I’m interested to know if people actually see results or if it’s more useful for general exercise. 

6 thoughts on “Recently

  1. I’m a big camper but have never camped in a yurt before. I’ll have to try it out 🙂

    I’m going to try a barre class through YouTube first and see if I like it. The classes are $30 for drop-ins and I definitely don’t want to pay that much if I’m not going to enjoy it!

  2. I don’t miss the cooler weather, but I do miss the idea of digging into a snug little area when it’s cold outside.

    Good luck on those barre classes!

  3. That yurt trip sounds awesome! I love that feeling of relaxing in the warmth after a long day of hiking…. ahhh. I took barre classes for awhile while we lived in DC, but I’m not sure that I saw any specific results. I switched over to yoga, which is now my primary workout, because I enjoy it so much more and I definitely see results from it.

    1. You two would love a yurt hike! I like good ol’ camping as well, but the yurt was fun because we got to cook in a kitchen and play cards around a table in front of the fireplace. Yoga is one of my favorites too, and I need to get back into a more regular practice!

Leave a Reply

