Thirsty Thursday Thoughts – First Edition

Welcome to the first addition of Thirsty Thursday! This is my time to ramble on about my week, finances, blog posts I’ve read, random happenings in my life, and a place for me to get everything off my chest.

thirsty

Right now I wish I was drinking: A Moscow Mule (pictured above). One of my all time favorite drinks is a Moscow Mule that’s made with real ginger beer, fresh lime, and a bit of vodka. It’s a super refreshing summer drink but I also enjoy them year round.

This past week one of my best friends has been in town for a conference, and we’ve gone out nearly every night since Sunday. I love seeing her and really miss having close girlfriends in my day to day life. Most of my friends live in other states, and I rely a lot of hanging out with Mr. M&M and his friends for most of my social life. There’s just nothing quite like being with someone who you easily connect with and can maintain a conversation about everything and nothing at the same time,  you know? What’s even better is that the group she’s with are also some of my former coworkers so we all met up for happy hour and dinner at a few bars downtown. Elysian brewery opened a new swanky bar downtown that I hadn’t even heard of before last night. Their specialties are the beers they brew up on Capitol Hill, but they also had what looked like an awesome menu (although a bit expensive) and I’d definitely go back.

After all the fun I’ve had this week I’m ready to have a low key weekend of hanging with the husband, grabbing breakfast with a friend, and being lazy in our apartment. I’m typically more of a homebody, so  while I do enjoy going out every once in a while I can tell I’m getting tired of drinking and eating out, and am looking forward to resuming normal life on Friday.

Money-wise we spent way more this week than we did for any other week in February. Although we didn’t reach my savings goal of $1000, I am super proud of us for saving some money this month and paying even more towards loans. Figuring out how to be social and save money is like solving the theory of relativity for me;  therefore I haven’t done a great job of straddling the no-spending vs. spend-everything-because-you-only-get-to-see-your-friend-once-a-year spectrum.

Screen Shot 2015-02-26 at 11.08.17 AM

 

One of my greatest challenges is trying to break that all or nothing mindset and finding a balance between paying off loans while living a life that I love. What I don’t want to do is let the weight of our debt drag us down for the next 10 years and end up on the other side a miserable married couple with little to no savings and an uncertain future. I think I’m still trying to wrap my head around the amount of debt we owe, and that our reality is going to be different than those other people who are able to pay for 30,000 over the span of 18 months (comparisons are an easy trap for me to fall in to). The amount of debt combined with the limited graduate school stipend we bring home makes paying it off quickly very difficult, and to save my mental state I need to come to terms with the fact that our debt isn’t going to be gone in 1, 2, or even 5 years. It’s going to be a slow process for us and one that includes many other goals for our financial future. I also know that once we graduate in the next 1-2 years and start making more money we’ll be able to re-adjust our goals and start paying off that debt more rapidly.

On a totally unrelated note, I’ve been trying to get to the gym more frequently to limit the graduate school weight gain that has somehow crept up and strengthen my winter-weakened body. We’re going on a few camping/hiking/backpacking adventures next month and are planning more trips once the weather gets warmer so I definitely need to teach my muscles how to not only haul around my body but also schlep a backpack full of stuff for a few miles. My goal is to hit the gym or exercise 3 days during the work week and once on the weekends. Hopefully that will lead to a relatively good base for me to build off of and I’ll be trekking it through the mountains all summer long.

What do you wish you were drinking? Any random thoughts you’re having right at this very moment?

One thought on “Thirsty Thursday Thoughts – First Edition

Leave a Reply

