I hate parking tickets

I’m sure all of you can relate to the title of this post. Well, unless you’re a meter maid & then I simultaneously do and do not feel sorry for you. Parking tickets are my number one biggest pet peeve when it comes to watching money fly out the door.
Yesterday I had parked on my street where the rules state that you can park for 2 hours, except between the hours of 6pm and midnight.

So guess who walked out of her apartment at 6:30 & immediately saw a glaringly white envelope under her car’s windshield wiper?

Yup, I totally spaced on the after 6pm rule & got myself a fine of $53. Which, by the way, is completely outrageous for a parking ticket.

I hate parking tickets more than I hate late fees from my doctor’s office, or even just straight up losing money being my forgetful self. My anger really lies with myself & not paying attention to my car or the rules, but I am also pissed that it’s a FIFTY-THREE dollar fine because I parked for an extra half an hour. And what kind of rules are those anyways?

One option is to go to the court & try to have it reduced but honestly I have no idea what I would say or if it’s really worth it to miss work & head downtown to sit in the courthouse and plead my case.

So yup, money down the drain & nothing I can do about it.

3 thoughts on “I hate parking tickets

  1. At the beginning of 2013 my one and only new year’s resolution was to not get a parking ticket anywhere in LA…well anywhere really. I managed to do it and I’m hoping for a two year streak. I had literally had enough with the street sweeping tickets. Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

